{"id":19,"date":"2022-01-06T16:54:50","date_gmt":"2022-01-06T16:54:50","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/?page_id=19"},"modified":"2026-03-16T11:32:13","modified_gmt":"2026-03-16T11:32:13","slug":"agriculture","status":"publish","type":"page","link":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/agriculture\/","title":{"rendered":"Farms"},"content":{"rendered":"\n<div style=\"height:0px\" aria-hidden=\"true\" class=\"wp-block-spacer\"><\/div>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-gallery has-nested-images columns-default is-cropped wp-block-gallery-1 is-layout-flex wp-block-gallery-is-layout-flex\">\n<figure class=\"wp-block-image size-large\"><img data-recalc-dims=\"1\" loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"750\" height=\"535\" data-attachment-id=\"309\" data-permalink=\"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/agriculture\/arial-of-mill-field-farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web\/\" data-orig-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Arial-of-Mill-Field-Farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web.jpg?fit=1715%2C1222&amp;ssl=1\" data-orig-size=\"1715,1222\" data-comments-opened=\"1\" data-image-meta=\"{&quot;aperture&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;credit&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;camera&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;caption&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;created_timestamp&quot;:&quot;1612707037&quot;,&quot;copyright&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;focal_length&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;iso&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;shutter_speed&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;orientation&quot;:&quot;1&quot;}\" data-image-title=\"Arial-of-Mill-Field-Farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web\" data-image-description=\"\" data-image-caption=\"\" data-large-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Arial-of-Mill-Field-Farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web.jpg?fit=750%2C535&amp;ssl=1\" data-id=\"309\" src=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Arial-of-Mill-Field-Farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web.jpg?resize=750%2C535&#038;ssl=1\" alt=\"\" class=\"wp-image-309\" srcset=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Arial-of-Mill-Field-Farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web.jpg?resize=1024%2C730&amp;ssl=1 1024w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Arial-of-Mill-Field-Farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web.jpg?resize=300%2C214&amp;ssl=1 300w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Arial-of-Mill-Field-Farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web.jpg?resize=768%2C547&amp;ssl=1 768w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Arial-of-Mill-Field-Farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web.jpg?resize=1536%2C1094&amp;ssl=1 1536w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Arial-of-Mill-Field-Farm-adjusted-and-credited-for-web.jpg?w=1715&amp;ssl=1 1715w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 750px) 100vw, 750px\" \/><figcaption class=\"wp-element-caption\">Millfield Farm<\/figcaption><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-image size-large\"><img data-recalc-dims=\"1\" loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"750\" height=\"566\" data-attachment-id=\"310\" data-permalink=\"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/agriculture\/croft-farm-for-web\/\" data-orig-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Croft-Farm-for-web.jpg?fit=1666%2C1258&amp;ssl=1\" data-orig-size=\"1666,1258\" data-comments-opened=\"1\" data-image-meta=\"{&quot;aperture&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;credit&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;camera&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;caption&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;created_timestamp&quot;:&quot;1533159462&quot;,&quot;copyright&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;focal_length&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;iso&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;shutter_speed&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;orientation&quot;:&quot;1&quot;}\" data-image-title=\"Croft-Farm-for-web\" data-image-description=\"\" data-image-caption=\"\" data-large-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Croft-Farm-for-web.jpg?fit=750%2C566&amp;ssl=1\" data-id=\"310\" src=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Croft-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=750%2C566&#038;ssl=1\" alt=\"\" class=\"wp-image-310\" srcset=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Croft-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=1024%2C773&amp;ssl=1 1024w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Croft-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=300%2C227&amp;ssl=1 300w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Croft-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=768%2C580&amp;ssl=1 768w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Croft-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=1536%2C1160&amp;ssl=1 1536w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Croft-Farm-for-web.jpg?w=1666&amp;ssl=1 1666w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 750px) 100vw, 750px\" \/><figcaption class=\"wp-element-caption\">Croft Farm<\/figcaption><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-image size-large\"><img data-recalc-dims=\"1\" loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"750\" height=\"545\" data-attachment-id=\"311\" data-permalink=\"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/agriculture\/home-farm-aerial-photo-for-web\/\" data-orig-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Home-Farm-Aerial-Photo-for-web.jpg?fit=1698%2C1234&amp;ssl=1\" data-orig-size=\"1698,1234\" data-comments-opened=\"1\" data-image-meta=\"{&quot;aperture&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;credit&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;camera&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;caption&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;created_timestamp&quot;:&quot;1528203997&quot;,&quot;copyright&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;focal_length&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;iso&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;shutter_speed&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;orientation&quot;:&quot;1&quot;}\" data-image-title=\"Home-Farm-Aerial-Photo-for-web\" data-image-description=\"\" data-image-caption=\"\" data-large-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Home-Farm-Aerial-Photo-for-web.jpg?fit=750%2C545&amp;ssl=1\" data-id=\"311\" src=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Home-Farm-Aerial-Photo-for-web.jpg?resize=750%2C545&#038;ssl=1\" alt=\"\" class=\"wp-image-311\" srcset=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Home-Farm-Aerial-Photo-for-web.jpg?resize=1024%2C744&amp;ssl=1 1024w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Home-Farm-Aerial-Photo-for-web.jpg?resize=300%2C218&amp;ssl=1 300w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Home-Farm-Aerial-Photo-for-web.jpg?resize=768%2C558&amp;ssl=1 768w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Home-Farm-Aerial-Photo-for-web.jpg?resize=1536%2C1116&amp;ssl=1 1536w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Home-Farm-Aerial-Photo-for-web.jpg?w=1698&amp;ssl=1 1698w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 750px) 100vw, 750px\" \/><figcaption class=\"wp-element-caption\">Home Farm<\/figcaption><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-image size-large\"><img data-recalc-dims=\"1\" loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"750\" height=\"584\" data-attachment-id=\"312\" data-permalink=\"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/agriculture\/mill-house-for-web\/\" data-orig-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Mill-House-for-web.jpg?fit=1641%2C1277&amp;ssl=1\" data-orig-size=\"1641,1277\" data-comments-opened=\"1\" data-image-meta=\"{&quot;aperture&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;credit&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;camera&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;caption&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;created_timestamp&quot;:&quot;1631645652&quot;,&quot;copyright&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;focal_length&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;iso&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;shutter_speed&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;orientation&quot;:&quot;1&quot;}\" data-image-title=\"Mill-House-for-web\" data-image-description=\"\" data-image-caption=\"\" data-large-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Mill-House-for-web.jpg?fit=750%2C584&amp;ssl=1\" data-id=\"312\" src=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Mill-House-for-web.jpg?resize=750%2C584&#038;ssl=1\" alt=\"\" class=\"wp-image-312\" srcset=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Mill-House-for-web.jpg?resize=1024%2C797&amp;ssl=1 1024w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Mill-House-for-web.jpg?resize=300%2C233&amp;ssl=1 300w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Mill-House-for-web.jpg?resize=768%2C598&amp;ssl=1 768w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Mill-House-for-web.jpg?resize=1536%2C1195&amp;ssl=1 1536w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Mill-House-for-web.jpg?w=1641&amp;ssl=1 1641w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 750px) 100vw, 750px\" \/><figcaption class=\"wp-element-caption\">Mill House Farm<\/figcaption><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-image size-large\"><img data-recalc-dims=\"1\" loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"750\" height=\"547\" data-attachment-id=\"313\" data-permalink=\"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/agriculture\/pear-tree-farm-for-web\/\" data-orig-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Pear-Tree-Farm-for-web.jpg?fit=1695%2C1236&amp;ssl=1\" data-orig-size=\"1695,1236\" data-comments-opened=\"1\" data-image-meta=\"{&quot;aperture&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;credit&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;camera&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;caption&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;created_timestamp&quot;:&quot;1630496018&quot;,&quot;copyright&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;focal_length&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;iso&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;shutter_speed&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;orientation&quot;:&quot;1&quot;}\" data-image-title=\"Pear-Tree-Farm-for-web\" data-image-description=\"\" data-image-caption=\"\" data-large-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Pear-Tree-Farm-for-web.jpg?fit=750%2C547&amp;ssl=1\" data-id=\"313\" src=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Pear-Tree-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=750%2C547&#038;ssl=1\" alt=\"\" class=\"wp-image-313\" srcset=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Pear-Tree-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=1024%2C747&amp;ssl=1 1024w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Pear-Tree-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=300%2C219&amp;ssl=1 300w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Pear-Tree-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=768%2C560&amp;ssl=1 768w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Pear-Tree-Farm-for-web.jpg?resize=1536%2C1120&amp;ssl=1 1536w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Pear-Tree-Farm-for-web.jpg?w=1695&amp;ssl=1 1695w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 750px) 100vw, 750px\" \/><figcaption class=\"wp-element-caption\">Pear Tree Farm<\/figcaption><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-image size-large\"><img data-recalc-dims=\"1\" loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"750\" height=\"545\" data-attachment-id=\"314\" data-permalink=\"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/agriculture\/corner-farm-aerial-2-for-web\/\" data-orig-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Corner-Farm-aerial-2-for-web.jpg?fit=1699%2C1234&amp;ssl=1\" data-orig-size=\"1699,1234\" data-comments-opened=\"1\" data-image-meta=\"{&quot;aperture&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;credit&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;camera&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;caption&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;created_timestamp&quot;:&quot;1631888582&quot;,&quot;copyright&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;focal_length&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;iso&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;shutter_speed&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;orientation&quot;:&quot;1&quot;}\" data-image-title=\"Corner-Farm-aerial-2-for-web\" data-image-description=\"\" data-image-caption=\"\" data-large-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Corner-Farm-aerial-2-for-web.jpg?fit=750%2C545&amp;ssl=1\" data-id=\"314\" src=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Corner-Farm-aerial-2-for-web.jpg?resize=750%2C545&#038;ssl=1\" alt=\"\" class=\"wp-image-314\" srcset=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Corner-Farm-aerial-2-for-web.jpg?resize=1024%2C744&amp;ssl=1 1024w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Corner-Farm-aerial-2-for-web.jpg?resize=300%2C218&amp;ssl=1 300w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Corner-Farm-aerial-2-for-web.jpg?resize=768%2C558&amp;ssl=1 768w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Corner-Farm-aerial-2-for-web.jpg?resize=1536%2C1116&amp;ssl=1 1536w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2022\/01\/Corner-Farm-aerial-2-for-web.jpg?w=1699&amp;ssl=1 1699w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 750px) 100vw, 750px\" \/><figcaption class=\"wp-element-caption\">Corner Farm &amp; Lake View Farm<\/figcaption><\/figure>\n<figcaption class=\"blocks-gallery-caption wp-element-caption\">We thank the following for sharing their photographs, Carol Swift, Gerry Sergison, Barry Coates, June Langhorn, David Jarrad and  Granville Brownbridge<\/figcaption><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<div style=\"height:3px\" aria-hidden=\"true\" class=\"wp-block-spacer\"><\/div>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\"><strong>PLEASE NOTE THIS PAGE IS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING COMPLETED<\/strong><\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">Over the years, there have been 18 farms in and around Osgodby, these have now declined to only 6 working farms. This number doesn&#8217;t include the Experimental Fruit.  Farm, set up by Leeds University.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">The following information has been researched from Enclosure Act Records, Tithe Records, Land Valuation Records, Estate papers, Deeds, Poll Books, Electoral Rolls, together with Wills and newspaper articles. Please note, with annual tenancies, it will not be a complete record of all tenants.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-large-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>OSGODBY ESTATE FARMS<\/strong>  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\" style=\"font-size:28px;font-style:normal;font-weight:800\"><strong><em>Commonside Farm\/Whitemoor Grange<\/em><\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">One of the older Estate farms, Commonside was the location of an anti-aircraft battery and searchlight during the First World War. &nbsp; This was one of a number of such batteries located in the area which would have most likely been to provide defence against Zeppelin attack on the Gunpowder Magazine\/phosgene shell filling station at Barlby and the airship construction site located over the river at Barlow.&nbsp;<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">From the 1862 Valuation Records, it shows Fred Tennant was renting Commonside Farm from Riley Briggs (Lord of the Manor) and sub-letting to Thomas Spencer.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">When the Estate was put up for sale in 1919, the farm was bought in 1919 by Alfred Ernest Wetherell, who lived there with his wife Dora and son Alfred. Alfred Ernest was killed in an accident on the farm, aged 67, on 14th February 1944.  The farm has remained in the ownership of the Wetherell family.  <br><br>In the 1939 register and OS maps up to 1952 the farm is known as Whitemoor Grange.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong><em>TENANTS<\/em><\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>1836 &#8211; 1853 Thomas Spencer<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">Poll Books show Thomas Spencer was farming in Osgodby in 1836.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">Thomas was born 1777 in Stillingfleet.  He married Mary Brocklebank (born 1788 Stilingfleet) on 24 November 1807 at Stilingfleet Church.  Their eldest son George (born 1808 Stillingfleet) and he married Elizabeth Hudson (born 1812 Wistow) on 15 February 1835 in York St Margaret.  Their daughter Elizabeth (born 1818 in Escrick) married William Kettlewell of Cliffe on 14 November 1837.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">Following the death of Thomas in 1853, Mary his widow, continued to farm at Commonside along with son George and nephew Henry.  The Spencer family left the farm around 1862.    <\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\"><strong><em>Stud Farm\/Whitemoor Farm<\/em><\/strong><\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Another Estate farm, Stud Farm was originally called Whitemoor Farm the name was changed sometime, between 1919 and 1938, presumably to avoid confusion with its renamed neighbour Whitemoor Grange (Commonside Farm) and Whitemoor Farm, Cliffe cum Lund.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">In 1919, when the Farm was sold as part of the sale of the Estate of the last Riley Briggs, the property was described as:<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>DWELLING HOUSE: Brick built and tiled, including 2 front rooms, kitchen, dairy, 3 bedrooms, together with the usual out-offices<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><em><strong>FARM BUILDINGS: built of brick and tiled, include 2 bay Shed to Fold, Cow House for 3, Wood and Zinc covered Fold Shed, Barn, 3-opening Cart Shed, 2 Pig Styes, 2 Loose Boxes, and Cart Horse Stable for 3, together with 116a 0r 7p of arable and grass land together with Whitemoor Wood (8 a 2 r 16p).   The House and Buildings had been put into tenable order and repair&#8217; drainage overhauled, and cemented paths renewed. <\/strong><\/em><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><br>In 1825, George Calvert was the farmer here, when a gas balloon, which had taken off from the Gas Works in York landed on the farm, causing great excitement in the area.<br><br>His son, also George, took over tenancy of the farm on the death of his father in 1851 and it was George jnr who was here when the farm was subject to an arson attack in May 1864. The farm suffered further fires in 1893, 1907, 1928 and 1928<br><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Peartree Farm<\/strong><br><br>The old farmhouse here predated the 1809 Enclosures map and seems to be shown on Jeffrey&#8217;s 1772 map of Yorkshire. Also known as &#8216;Haller&#8217;s Farm&#8217;, for many years after the Haller family had left and the farm had been sold. Joseph Haller was born in Burn and is recorded on the 1834 Poll Book as occupying 50 acres of land at Osgodby, by 1851 he was farming 118 acres in Osgodby, assisted by his sons, Thomas, George, William, Joseph and John. <br><br>George Pelsant Dawson (Lord of the Manor) put the farm up for sale (together with other land) in October 1857, and Joseph Haller bought the farm.  Following the death of Joseph in 1860,, Hannah (His wife &#8211; nee Hessell) and their sons continued to farm.  On the death of Hannah in 1864, the sons put the farm up for auction in July 1864.  The purchasers were William Liversidge &amp; Sons.  The Haller brothers continued to farm there until the late 1870s.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">By 1881, a new tenant,  Henry Lumley was farming the land.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Home Farm<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Osgodby Grange\/White House Farm<\/strong><br><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Lakeview Farm<\/strong><br><br><strong>Siddal&#8217;s Farm<\/strong> <br><br><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-large-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>FREEHOLD FARMS<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\"><strong><em>Corner Farm<\/em><\/strong><\/h2>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\"><strong><em>Tindall&#8217;s Farm<\/em><\/strong><\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">Tindall&#8217;s Farm was a well established farm and copyhold of the Manor of Temple Hirst.  West Yorkshire Archives details those who held the copyhold property (tenant) from  the Earl of Sheffield (and his descendants),  and from census records, newspaper articles, etc.,  research has identified who occupied  the farm.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\">The farm consisted of the homestead together with about 69 acres of land.  From the archives, Knight Templar land copyhold of Temple Manor was held by the Lord&#8217;s of the Manor going back to the Babthorpe family (Lords of the Manor of Osgodby).  The records researched first mention the house at Osgodby being that of Richard Williamson in the late 1600s.  From 1704, John Burdett of Whitby (Lord of the Manor of Osgodby) held the tenancy<em>. <\/em> He bequeathed the farm and land to his sister Ann Burdett who (from the rent book records) held the land from 1734 &#8211; 1758.  On Ann&#8217;s death the estate was bequeathed to Ann&#8217;s sister Gertrude, and in Gertrude&#8217;s will of 1784, she bequeathed the property to her sister Tabitha Bowers.  On her death in 1789, in line with her brother&#8217;s will of 1736, Tabitha  leaves the property to her nephew James Ness.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<figure class=\"wp-block-image alignright size-medium\"><img data-recalc-dims=\"1\" loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"300\" height=\"220\" data-attachment-id=\"1676\" data-permalink=\"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/agriculture\/crescent-farm-late-1940s\/\" data-orig-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2024\/07\/Crescent-farm-late-1940s.jpg?fit=2416%2C1768&amp;ssl=1\" data-orig-size=\"2416,1768\" data-comments-opened=\"0\" data-image-meta=\"{&quot;aperture&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;credit&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;camera&quot;:&quot;CanoScan LiDE 700F&quot;,&quot;caption&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;created_timestamp&quot;:&quot;1555268225&quot;,&quot;copyright&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;focal_length&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;iso&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;shutter_speed&quot;:&quot;0&quot;,&quot;title&quot;:&quot;&quot;,&quot;orientation&quot;:&quot;1&quot;}\" data-image-title=\"Crescent farm late 1940s\" data-image-description=\"\" data-image-caption=\"\" data-large-file=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2024\/07\/Crescent-farm-late-1940s.jpg?fit=750%2C549&amp;ssl=1\" src=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2024\/07\/Crescent-farm-late-1940s.jpg?resize=300%2C220&#038;ssl=1\" alt=\"Crescent Farm\" class=\"wp-image-1676\" style=\"aspect-ratio:4\/3;object-fit:cover\" srcset=\"https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2024\/07\/Crescent-farm-late-1940s.jpg?resize=300%2C220&amp;ssl=1 300w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2024\/07\/Crescent-farm-late-1940s.jpg?resize=1024%2C749&amp;ssl=1 1024w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2024\/07\/Crescent-farm-late-1940s.jpg?resize=768%2C562&amp;ssl=1 768w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2024\/07\/Crescent-farm-late-1940s.jpg?resize=1536%2C1124&amp;ssl=1 1536w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2024\/07\/Crescent-farm-late-1940s.jpg?resize=2048%2C1499&amp;ssl=1 2048w, https:\/\/i0.wp.com\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/3\/2024\/07\/Crescent-farm-late-1940s.jpg?w=2250&amp;ssl=1 2250w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px\" \/><figcaption class=\"wp-element-caption\">Crescent Farm circa late 1940s\/1950s<\/figcaption><\/figure>\n\n\n\n<h2 class=\"wp-block-heading\"><strong><em>Crescent Farm<\/em><\/strong><\/h2>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">The earliest record of the dwelling house and land which came to be known as \u201cCrescent Farm\u201d is in documents relating to the 1819 Enclosure Act.&nbsp;&nbsp; The schedule indicated that the property was owned by John Stainton (formerly by his father Thomas Stainton) and he owned 8 acres 3 roods and 4 perches consisting of<\/p>\n\n\n\n<ul class=\"wp-block-list\">\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Acres&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Roods&nbsp;&nbsp; Perches&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">House &amp; Garth&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;   &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 2&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 19<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">Sand Close&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;   &nbsp; 2&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 3&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 15<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">Sand Close&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;     &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp; 2&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 1&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 31<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">Allotment on Teathill Field&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;           &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 2&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 1&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 39<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">1878 Deeds confirm Thomas Stainton formerly dwelt in the house.&nbsp; It also indicates that the barn adjoining the house was formerly converted into tenements and then reverted to barn and stables.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">By 1841, Tithe records show the property to be owned by George Burton, Farmer of Selby, and occupied by George Wilson.&nbsp; Tithe records show the farm had increased to 14 acres 1 rood 8 perches<\/p>\n\n\n\n<ul class=\"wp-block-list\">\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Acres&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Roods&nbsp;&nbsp; Perches&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">House &amp; Garth&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;2&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 19<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">Sand Close&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;  2&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 3&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 15<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">Sand Close&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;  2&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 1&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 31<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">Allotment on Teathill Field&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;      &nbsp;&nbsp; 2&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 3&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 19<\/li>\n\n\n\n<li class=\"has-small-font-size\">Hill Garth &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;5&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp; 2&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; 4<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">In 1765 Hill Garth was Leasehold of Mark Poskitt and his wife Ann (nee Felwell of Wistow) who released the land to Jonathon Barlow.&nbsp; The records states \u201cwhereon a message or cottage formerly stood\u201d.&nbsp; The land remained in the Barlow family and was sold by William Barlow to Thomas Wilson Esq of York in 1812.&nbsp;<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">It is not known when George Burton purchased the small estate.&nbsp; In 1844, George Burton died and bequeathed his Osgodby estate to his daughter Hannah, wife of Joseph Richardson, Draper of Selby.&nbsp;<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">The 1862 Land Valuation Records shows Joseph Richardson as the owner and George Wilson still the occupier.&nbsp; (14 acres 1 rood 8 perches).<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">On 29 April 1878, the property and land was put up for auction and was purchased by Riley Briggs, Lord of the Manor, and became part of the Osgodby Estate.&nbsp; The Deeds show that the owners were William Elston, (Land Valuer &amp; Farmer) William Glew of Selby (Chemist &amp; Druggist), Hannah Richardson (widow), together with Hannah\u2019s daughters and sons.&nbsp; &nbsp;<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">In 1902, Riley Briggs erected a new house.&nbsp; In 1919 when Crescent Farm was auctioned as part of the sale of the Osgodby Estate, the description was:<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><em>Dwellinghouse \u2013 Brick built, with Tile roof, erected in 1902 and includes 2 front rooms, Kitchen, Dairy, and 4 bedrooms.&nbsp;<\/em><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><em>Farm buildings \u2013 comprise Barn, Stable, 3 stall cow house, Steam House, Open Shed and Stable, 4 bay Dutch barn, wood pillars and roof.&nbsp;<\/em><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">The farm was purchased by Thomas and Maria Smith, and they remained farming until the death of Maria in 1934.&nbsp; `The estate was put up for sale and was purchased by East Riding County Council, (later transferred to North Yorkshire County Council), and remained in their possession until 2012.&nbsp; The house was sold as a private dwelling.&nbsp;<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Morritt&#8217;s Farm (Wadkin Arms)<\/strong><br><br><strong>Mill Farm\/Osgodby Windmill<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Bridge Farm<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">The land originally formed part of the Osgodby Estate. In 1857, George Pelsant Dawson, Lord of the Manor, put a number of pieces of land up for sale.  The land which was the &#8220;Teathill Allotment&#8221;  (1 acre 2 roods and 11 perches and Teathill Field (4 acres 3 roods 26 perches).  This was purchased by John Baker and John Mollett.  The farm house will have been built around that time, as John&#8217;s eldest son was born in Osgodby in May 1858.  John farmed the land until 1873 when he emigrated to Canada.  Riley Briggs purchased the farm on 19 May 1873, and the farm became and estate farm.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">In 1919, when the farm was put up for sale as part of the Osgodby Estate Farm, the present occupier of the farm, George Smith, purchased it.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Field House Farm<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Yew Tree Farm<\/strong><br><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-large-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>COUNTY FARMS<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">The origins of County Farms lie in the late-Victorian agricultural depression, during which widespread cries for land reform led radical Liberal MP Joseph Chamberlain to stand for election on the promise of&nbsp; &#8220;three acres and a cow&#8221; &nbsp;for landless tenant farmers. He went on to propose a solution whereby councils would buy up land and lease it out to small tenant farmers on cheap rents. A succession of government Acts in&nbsp;1892, &nbsp;1908 &nbsp;and 1925 created County Farms, sometimes called County Smallholdings.  Following the end of the First World War, the numbers of County Farms significantly increased, and East Riding County Council took the opportunity with the sale of the Osgodby Estate in 1919, to purchase two farms (Lake View &amp; Tindall&#8217;s Farm) together with land to build new County Farms.  <\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Millfield Farm<\/strong><\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">Millfield Farm was built around 1920 by the East Riding County Council.  The first occupant was Ernest Swan born 1885 in Hayton, Yorkshire.  He moved into the farm with his wife Agnes (nee  ) together with his two sons James William and Clarence.  A third son, John Ken Swan was born in Osgodby in 1923.  During the first World War, Ernest had served as a Gunner with the 214th Siege Battery, RGA and was mentioned in despatches for gallant conduct at Potijze.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">Ernest lived and worked the land until his death in 1968. From 1968, his son, James carried on the tenancy of the farm until 1981.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"has-medium-font-size wp-block-paragraph\">The next tenants were the Hullah family who only stayed at the farm for a short period. In 1984, the Barnard family moved into the farm from Cudworth and remain farming in 2024.<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>West Common Farm<\/strong><br><br>The farmhouse was built around 1920 by the East Riding Council. Newlyweds, Thomas Laverack Jackson and his wife Leber Ann were the first farmers at West Common Farm. The 1939 register shows the couple were still at the farm and Leber Ann was a volunteer first aider, their daughter, Muriel, aged 18, was working as a shorthand typist. In 1946 Thomas gave up tenancy of the farm and the new tenant was Leonard Gibson and his wife Ada. #<\/p>\n\n\n\n<p class=\"wp-block-paragraph\"><strong>Becksyke Farm<\/strong><br><br><strong>Croft Farm<\/strong><\/p>\n","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p>PLEASE NOTE THIS PAGE IS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING COMPLETED Over the years, there have been 18 farms in and around Osgodby, these have now declined to only 6 working farms. This number doesn&#8217;t include the Experimental Fruit. Farm,<\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":1,"featured_media":0,"parent":0,"menu_order":0,"comment_status":"closed","ping_status":"closed","template":"","meta":{"footnotes":""},"class_list":["post-19","page","type-page","status-publish","hentry"],"jetpack_sharing_enabled":true,"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/19","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/page"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/1"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=19"}],"version-history":[{"count":53,"href":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/19\/revisions"}],"predecessor-version":[{"id":1923,"href":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/19\/revisions\/1923"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/osgodbyvillage.uk\/heritage\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=19"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}